Seven Delaware communities awarded assistance grants

Seven Delaware communities awarded assistance grants to improve
resiliency to coastal hazards and climate change

Lewes Canal, Drawbridge, coastal assistance program, delaware, sussex county, DNREC
Lewes Canal and Drawbridge

DOVER (Sept. 16, 2015) – Seven Delaware communities have been awarded Coastal Management Assistance Program grants totaling $75,000 from DNREC’s Delaware Coastal Programs through funding from the Office of Coastal Management, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The grants will fund risk assessment and planning to improve community resiliency to coastal hazards and climate change.

“Delaware is vulnerable to coastal storms, flooding and climate change, accelerating sea level rise,” said Sarah Cooksey, administrator of Delaware Coastal Programs. “By helping communities assess their risks and identify ways to adapt to these events, we are preparing Delaware to be more resilient. I commend our communities for taking action to help ensure we are resilient to the impacts that we are experiencing now and are better prepared for future impacts.”

Related Articles
1 of 642

The projects funded will improve a community’s ability to plan for and adapt to sea level rise and coastal hazards, including coastal storms and nuisance flooding.

Grant recipients for the 2015 Coastal Management Assistance Program, with a description of their projects, are:

  • The City of Laurel will conduct a stormwater drainage study to investigate the feasibility of incorporating green infrastructure and improving the resiliency of “The Ramble,” a proposed waterfront revitalization project along Broad Creek.
  • The City of Lewes will carry out a vulnerability assessment of their evacuation routes and critical infrastructure to help them with emergency operations planning.
  • The Town of Little Creek will assess their vulnerability to coastal hazards and sea level rise and incorporate these issues into their comprehensive plan update.
  • The Town of Milton will assess their risks to flooding and sea level rise and review options for zoning and building code modifications that improve community resiliency.
  • The City of New Castle will evaluate methods to create a living shoreline that addresses and is resilient to coastal hazards and sea level rise at their Battery Park waterfront.
  • The Town of South Bethany will conduct a vulnerability assessment of critical infrastructure to support the development of a comprehensive adaptation plan.
  • The City of Seaford will conduct a vulnerability assessment of the Seaford Wastewater Treatment Facility to identify upgrades that will protect the facility from flooding and sea level rise.

The Coastal Management Assistance Program improves local capacity to conserve and manage coastal resources and supports the integration of coastal management principals through local planning and implementation activities. For more information on the grant program and recipients, contact Delaware Coastal Programs at 302-739-9283.

Comments are closed.