January Is The Full Wolf Moon

international space station crosses moon, full moon, delaware, sussex county,
International Space Station with the moon as the background … photo by Elliot Severn of Spaceflightphotography.com

The first full moon of the year 2017 will occur today, on Jan. 12 at 6:35 AM.  This is known as the Full Wolf Moon to native American tribes.  Wolf packs would howl hungrily just outside of the Indian villages in the deep snows of midwinter.  It is also referred to as the Old Moon or the Moon After Yule.  Some call it the full snow moon but most tribes used that name for February’s moon.  The full moon always has serious influence on the tides creating higher and lower than average tides.  This year we are looking at a heat wave during the full moon.  Well if you consider fifty degrees a heat wave but compared to the last week it will feel like summer.  Keep an eye out in the early mornings for the International Space Station crossing the sky there is a time table below.

Fish On!

Rich King

 

Related Articles
1 of 726

The following ISS sightings are possible from Monday Jan 9, 2017 through Saturday Jan 21, 2017
Date Visible Max Height Appears Disappears
Wed Jan 11, 6:29 AM 2 min 12° 10° above N 10° above NE
Thu Jan 12, 5:38 AM < 1 min 10° 10° above N 10° above N
Fri Jan 13, 6:20 AM 4 min 18° 10° above NNW 11° above ENE
Sat Jan 14, 5:30 AM 2 min 13° 13° above NNE 10° above NE
Sun Jan 15, 6:13 AM 3 min 32° 14° above NNW 25° above ENE
Mon Jan 16, 5:23 AM 2 min 21° 21° above NNE 14° above ENE
Tue Jan 17, 6:05 AM 3 min 77° 23° above NW 35° above ESE
Wed Jan 18, 5:16 AM 1 min 34° 34° above ENE 21° above E
Wed Jan 18, 6:49 AM 5 min 19° 10° above W 10° above S
Thu Jan 19, 5:59 AM 4 min 38° 33° above WSW 10° above SSE
Fri Jan 20, 5:09 AM 2 min 28° 28° above SE 10° above SE
Sat Jan 21, 5:52 AM 1 min 14° 14° above SW 10° above SSW

Comments are closed.